Donate | Partners | Calendar | Newsletter | with the support of

2015 Pride Marshals

The voting period has now ended.

Thank you to all members of the community who voted and/or nominated a person or an organization to the 2015 marshalship. And congratulations to all nominees for the great work they are doing on behalf of our community.

The selected Marshals will be announced
on Wednesday, March 25th
at Boston Pride’s Spring Open House

Click here for more information about the Spring Open House

2015 Nominees

In alphabetical order – descriptions taken from nomination material submitted to Boston Pride

Ellyn Ruthstrom
Ellyn Ruthstrom has worked tirelessly over the past decade for bisexual and queer inclusion. Her work and dedication to the LGBTQ community has not only made a positive impact in Boston, but nationwide as well. Ellyn honorably served for ten years as Board President of the Bisexual Resource Center (BRC), the oldest U.S. bi-specific national organization that raises awareness about bisexuality, produces resources and provides support to the bisexual community. In 2013, Ellyn co-facilitated the first White House Roundtable on Bisexual Issues and initiated the founding of the Bisexual Leadership Roundtable, a networking space for bisexual activists and writers across the U.S. She also speaks at colleges, national conferences and public forums about bisexuality and the bi movement, in addition to currently serving as the Executive Director of SpeakOUT Boston, the nation’s oldest LGBTQ speakers bureau.

Erica Kay-Webster and David V. Bermudez
Erica and David are the only two veterans of the Stonewall Riots to live in New England. They participated, 46 years ago, in the rebellion at the Stonewall Inn in NYC, to protest police brutality and harassment against the LGBT community. Their actions, with those of other Stonewall veterans, initiated the global LGBT movement, and were a precursor to all Pride celebrations. It is only natural that, as we celebrate the 45th anniversary of Boston Pride, we recognize these veterans of the movement, and tell them that we are #wickedproud of what they did. Erica is a trans woman, David is a gay man. They both live in Cape Cod.

Pride Organizers
This nomination is for all past organizers of the Boston Pride celebration, throughout the last 45 years. Hundreds and hundreds of volunteers have worked hard throughout the years to make Boston Pride Week successful, to ensure that a safe and enjoyable space is created every year for our community. Let’s say thank you to all of them!

Samuel Brinton
Samuel has been a crusader for making conversion therapy for minors illegal. He has given talks to Google and the United Nations as part of the #BornPerfect campaign. He is a recent graduate (2014) of MIT, now living in Washington, DC. He himself is a ‘survivor’. In 2014, Samuel spoke to the Annual World Conference of InterPride, the international association of Pride organizers, to bring the spotlight on the devastating impact of conversion therapy and urge Prides around the world to join the fight against this practice.

Woody Glenn
The Bisexual Resource Center is celebrating 30 years in 2015 and we’d like to honor one of the founders of the BRC. Woody Glenn helped found what was then the East Coast Bisexual Network and went on to help it become a 501©3 and eventually change its name to the Bisexual Resource Center. His early leadership also helped establish the Boston Bisexual Men’s Network and helped to make Boston one of the most supportive and vibrant bisexual cities in the country. Boston is fortunate to have the oldest bi-specific national organization in the U.S. based here.